Supporting the gas industry since 1863
Sign In
Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Winners of Gas Industry Awards 2018 announced


Winners of Gas Industry Awards 2018 announced

The Institution of Gas Engineers & Managers (IGEM) and the Energy & Utilities Alliance (EUA) are pleased to announce the winners of the Gas Industry Awards 2018.

This year's champions were presented with their certificates and trophies at a prestigious awards lunch hosted earlier today (Tuesday 15th May), by Journalist and Broadcaster Jennie Bond at London's Park Lane Hilton.

Gas Award winners 2018

There were 10 categories of award followed by three special awards:

The winning individuals and organisations were:

  • Manager of the Year sponsored by Radius Systems - Wez Little, Synthotech
  • Engineer of the Year sponsored by British Gas - John White, Synthotech
  • Young Person's Achievement Award sponsored by Morrison Utility Services - Andy Lewis, Cadent
  • Safety Award sponsored by GISG and Gas Tag - Balfour Beatty for GDSP loss time injury record
  • Energy Efficiency Award sponsored by SMS Plc - Wales & West Utilities for Heat Pumps without Tears
  • Innovation Project Award sponsored by National Grid - Taunton Deane Borough Council in partnership with Gas Tag for Technology for Compliance
  • Customer Service Award sponsored by Penspen - Hannah Moseley, British Gas
  • Innovation Product Award sponsored by Wales & West Utilities - ULC Robotics and tRIIO in partnership with Cadent for the M1 live mains inspection crawler system
  • Leadership Award sponsored by SGN - Joanne Giles, Cadent
  • Company of the Year sponsored by WRc - Wales & West Utilities

Special awards:

  • Apprentice of the Year sponsored by IGEM and EUA - John Brady EngTech, SGN

Introduced this year in recognition of the government's Year of the Engineer campaign designed to inspire the next generation to pursue a career in engineering. John Brady has made a significant contribution to his workplace and setting a fine example to future engineering apprentices.

  • Special Recognition Award - Adrian McConnell, Gas Safety Trust

The judges decided that Adrian was worthy of receiving the special recognition award for his excellent track record of improving gas safety.

  • Outstanding Achievement Award - Chris Clarke, Wales & West Utilities

The judges said "Former IGEM President Chris Clarke has been at the forefront of everything relating to the future of our industry, thinking not only about the possibilities but also the practicalities of the myriad of solutions that are out there. He is a true leader and a worthy winner."

The Gas Industry Awards that have been uncovering extraordinary talent and highly innovative work for over 20 years. Mike Foster, Chief Executive of EUA said "The calibre of nominations this year was extremely high. The gas industry boasts some of the UK's most talented people and innovative companies, so winning is a huge honour."

Event organisers IGEM and EUA offer their thanks the sponsors of the awards lunch Smarter Metering Services and Towngas and those organisations who sponsored each category of award.

Neil Atkinson, Chief Executive Officer of IGEM said "This year's event was attended by over 650 representatives from across the gas sector making it a fantastic opportunity to network with key stakeholders and influential members of our industry as well as celebrate the fantastic work that is being undertaken. I look forward to next year."

Details of the 2019 awards will be available on the IGEM and EUA websites soon.



Notes to Editors:

For further information contact:  IGEM: Sharon Baker-Hallam, or tel: 01509 678186 or EUA: Alexandra Moran, or tel. 01926 513728

About IGEM: The Institution of Gas Engineers & Managers, IGEM, is the professional engineering institution supporting individuals and businesses working in the global gas industry. Our core role is to encourage the highest standards of professional competence amongst individuals working in the industry.

We help individuals stay up to date by delivering technical training. We support industry through the development of technical standards that are recognised around the world. We share knowledge and expertise amongst our members and the wider gas industry. We work across sectors to demonstrate the innovation taking place in the industry through networking events and conferences.

We are licensed by the Engineering Council to award the professional titles Chartered Engineer, Incorporated Engineer and Engineering Technician and support individuals to become professionally registered engineers.

Working with stakeholders from across the sector we seek to demonstrate how the gas industry will help to decarbonise the energy sector and represent the views of our members to inform and influence future energy policy.

About EUA: Founded in 1905, the Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA) is a not-for-profit trade association that provides a leading industry voice to help shape the future policy direction within the energy and utilities sector. Using its wealth of expertise and over 100 years of experience, it acts to further the best interests of its members and the wider community in working towards a sustainable, energy secure and energy efficient future. EUA has six organisational divisions - Utility Networks, the Heating and Hotwater Industry Council (HHIC), the Industrial & Commercial Energy Association (ICOM), the Hot Water Association (HWA), the Manufacturers' Association of Radiators and Convectors (MARC) and the Natural Gas Vehicle Network (NGV Network). It also provides secretariat services to several other organisations within the sector. The Secretariat, located in the Midlands, provides a range of support services to help its members further develop their businesses.

About The Gas Industry Awards: The Gas Industry Awards are held annually to honour the outstanding people and companies who help to make the gas industry great. This year's event was sponsored by Smarter Metering Services and Towngas, and the award categories were sponsored by British Gas, Gas Tag, Gas Industry Safety Group (GISG), Morrison Utility Services, National Grid, Penspen, Radius Systems, SMS plc, SGN, Wales & West Utilities and WRc.