Supporting the gas industry since 1863
Sign In
Wednesday, April 05, 2017

Gas Industry Awards 2017 shortlist announced

GIA logo 2017


The Gas Industry Award 2017 finalists have been announced.

Having deliberated over nearly 100 entries into the prestigious awards, the Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA) and the Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM) have announced the shortlisted nominees for this year's ceremony.

The judging panel, made up of leading figures from across the transmission, distribution and downstream gas sectors, had the difficult task of choosing the shortlist from a stack of extremely competitive entries.

The winners of the 10 categories will be named at a spectacular award ceremony at London's Park Lane Hilton on May 9, which will see around 600 gas industry professionals come together to celebrate the achievements of the industry.

Andy Cummings, IGEM President and Chair of Judges, said: "This year's shortlist is a masterclass of innovation and ingenuity. As always, the entrants have excelled in demonstrating their professionalism and creativity and it was particularly difficult to choose from such a strong collection of entries. We are fortunate to have such a spectrum of talented people working in our industry. Congratulations must go to all our shortlisted entrants and we look forward to seeing you at the awards ceremony on 9 May."

Robert Murray, President of EUA, said: "I have judged the IGEM - EUA Gas Industry Awards for a number of years. The 2017 entries are of the highest quality and accordingly it was extremely difficult to select a winner in each of the categories. I am looking forward to Awards Luncheon to see these most deserved of winners collect their awards."

The finalists are:

Manager of the Year
sponsored by Radius Systems

Terry Carroll, SGN Ltd

Mark Clarke, Gas Networks Ireland

Pamela Goee, SGN Ltd


Engineer of the Year sponsored by British Gas

Jayne Dawson, Northern Gas Networks

Dr Sarah Kimpton, DNV GL

Andrew Musgrave, SGN Ltd


Young Person's Achievement sponsored by Northern Gas Networks

Jayne Dawson, Northern Gas Networks

Hannah Brett, SGN Ltd

Robert Lumb, Synthotech Ltd


Safety Award sponsored by GISG and Corgi

Cliff Hoy, British Gas

Anthony Murray, Balfour Beatty

Locking Cooker Valve - SGN Ltd

Wales & West Utilities and Western Gas Alliance


Energy Efficiency Award

Baxi Heating

Heatrae Sadia

Morrison Utility Services



Innovation Project Award

SGN Ltd - iCore

SGN Ltd - Real Time Networks

Synthotech Ltd, National Grid Gas Transmission, Premtech and PIE - Project GRAID


Customer Service Award sponsored by Morrison Utility Services

Baxi Customer Support


Wales & West Utilities


Innovation Product Award sponsored by WRc

National Grid Distribution - ServiBoost

SGN Ltd - Advanced Gas Detection

SGN Ltd in partnership with ULC Robotics - CIRRIS


Leadership Award sponsored by Wales & West Utilities

Maureen McIntosh, SGN Ltd

John Morea, SGN Ltd

Christopher J Murray, Xoserve Ltd



Company of the Year Award sponsored by Smarter Metering Services

CNG Services Ltd


Synthotech Ltd

Wales & West Utilities


To book places at the luncheon visit our event partner EUA

IGEM logo EUA logo